Fayemi Emerges Winner Of Ekiti APC Governorship Primary

Minister of Mines and Steel Development and former Ekiti State Governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has won the All Progressives Congress governorship (APC) primary election held in Ado Ekiti, the state capital.

Nasarawa State Governor, Tanko Al-Makura, announced this on Saturday at the venue of the exercise.

He stated that Fayemi polled a total of 941 votes to beat 32 other aspirants while Segun Oni scored 481 votes and Kayode Ojo cane third with 281 votes out of the 2337 delegates accredited to vote.

Al-Makura also noted that 2313 were total valid votes during the exercise.

Some of the aspirants such as Biodun Amudipe and Patrick Adekunle did not score a single vote while Senator Ayo Arise; Bamidele Olumilua’s son, Muyiwa polled two votes and Opeyemi Bamidele scored eight votes.

With his victory, Fayemi, who was governor in the state between October 16 2010 and 2014 will now face the incumbent Deputy Governor Kolapo Olusola, who is the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party and heavily supported by Governor Ayodele Fayose in the election on July 14.

Written by 

Leave a Reply