Election Sequence: Names of Pro-Buhari Senators Revealed

Names of Pro- Buhari senators have been unveiled as the Senate commenced the move to override President Muhammadu Buhari on the amendment of the 2010 electoral act. The rejection of the amendment made to the electoral act by the National Assembly has polarized the Senate into two. While a faction led by a former Governor of Nasarawa state, Senator Abdullahi Adamu is in support of the President’s action, the second camp which has the backing of the Senate leadership is against President’s action.

A bill to override the President scaled through first reading on Tuesday. A source in the Pro- Buhari said a total of 42 senators have threw their weight behind action of the President on the electoral act.

Some of the senators in the President’s camp are Ali Ndume, Ahmad Lawan, Jibrin Barau, Ovie Oma- Agege, Abdullahi Adamu, Abu Ibrahim and Tayo Alasoadura. A list made available to DAILY TRUST showed that the group has Abia 0 Adamawa 3, Anambra 1, Akwa Ibom 1, Bauchi 0, Benue 1, Bayelsa 0, Borno 1, Cross River 1, Delta 0, Ebonyi 1, Edo 1, Enugu 0, Ekiti 0, FCT 0 and Gombe 0.

Others are Imo 2, Jigawa 2, Kaduna 1, Kano 2, Katsina 3, Kebbi 1, Kogi 0, Kwara 0, Lagos 3, Nasarawa 1 Niger 1, Ondo 3, Osun 2, Oyo 2, Ogun 2, Plateau 2, Rivers 2, Sokoto 0, Taraba 1, Yobe 2 and Zamfara 0.

Section 58(5) of the 1999 Constitution reads: “Where the President withholds his assent and the bill is again passed by each House by two-thirds majority, the bill shall become law and the assent of the President shall not be required”

While the 2/3rd of the Senate is 73, that of the House is 240. The anti- Buhari senators require 73 to make do their threat and pro-Buhari senators only require 37 to thwart the move.

Source: Daily Trust

Written by 

Leave a Reply