Oyo, Osun constitute LAUTECH Governing Council

The Oyo and Osun States governments have con­stituted a seven-man Governing Council headed by former Head of Service of the Fed­eration, Prof Oladapo Afolabi, for the embattled Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUT­ECH).

In a statement he issued on Monday, the Secretary to the Oyo State Government (SSG), Mr Ola­lekan Alli, named other mem­bers of the Council as Prof Lai Olurode, Prof Olaide Adedokun, Mr Abiodun AbdulJelil Owoni­koko (SAN), Mr Isiaka Olagoke, Mr Tise Adenipekun and Bade Adesina.

Alli said that Governor Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State and his Osun State counterpart, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola, acted on the powers conferred on them by the laws establishing the institution as Visitors.

He said that the governors met and approved the immediate con­stitution of the Governing Council of LAUTECH with Afolabi as the Chairman and Pro-Chancellor.

The SSG said that the tenure of the Governing Council, as man­dated by the University Law, shall be four years from the date of its inauguration unless determined by the Visitors.

Alli stressed that the Visitors had also directed the immediate inauguration of the Governing Council, whose mandate shall also be guided by the provisions of the relevant laws establishing the uni­versity.

He added that the Visitors are confident that with this devel­opment, the ongoing crisis in the institution will be resolved and enjoined all the stakehold­ers to cooperate with the new Council in its determination to realise its mandate.

Written by 

Leave a Reply