Anthony Joshua Knocks Out Carlos Takam In Round 10, Retains World Title

Nigerian born Anthony Joshua last night knocked out Carlos Takam in the 10th round of a powerfully contested bout which happens to be his fourth world title defence.

The fight took place at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday.

The rugged Cameroon-born contender compared to a “block of cement”, was bleeding from cuts above both eyes as Joshua unloaded in the 10th round.

Takam only stepped in just with 12 days’ notice, to challenge the IBF and WBA ‘super’ heavyweight champion, as replacement for Joshua’s mandatory challenger Kubrat Pulev.

Pulev was forced to withdraw through injury but with almost 80,000 tickets sold, the show had to go on.

Takam was cleared to continue by doctors twice, after Joshua opened a huge cut above his right eye.

The referee eventually stepped in the 10th round, although the decision looked controversial.

Joshua will now target unification clashes against fellow champions Deontay Wilder and Joseph Parker next year. He retains his belts and moves to 20-0 with 20 knockouts

“I have no interest in what’s going on with the officials,” Joshua said during his in-ring interview.

“I just worry about my opponent. Unfortunately, the ref stopped it. I think people wanted to see Takam unconscious on the floor, am I right?

“He was getting there. I didn’t have control over the ref’s decision. We get the win and now we look forward to 2018.”

Written by 

Leave a Reply